Text Size: A- | A | A+

Board Members

Bryan Bertacchi (PE, MBA), Board President

Mr. Bertacchi has served in key leadership positions within complex organizations, both public and private: NCPA (Northern California Power Agency, with over seventeen Municipal members including hydro plants, gas turbines, and geothermal, 100+ IBEW and OE3 employees), PG&E (Pacific Gas and Electric, with over 100 reservoirs and 68 hydro power plants and ten liquid fuel reciprocating engine plants and 400+ IBEW employees), and Calpine (where he served for over 15 years as Vice President of Western Operations and Area Executive with over 32 operating power plants). He has extensive Operations and Asset Management experience and has served as a board member and corporate officer. He has a depth of experience with government regulators, equity partners, lenders, rating agencies, elected officials, organized labor, OEM's, and EPC contractors. In his early career he was extensively trained as a field engineer for General Electric Company where he provided construction and operations support for Electric Generation equipment worldwide including Iraq, Egypt and other distant locations. He "wintered over" at Palmer Station Antarctica as the Plant Manager providing support for various scientific exploration and expeditions. He has served as: a Board Member of Sierra Geothermal Company, Chairman of Radback Energy, COO of the Calpine Power Income Fund, Vice President of the Calpine Western Region and Area Executive, and Director of PG&E Hydro and Fossil. He is currently serving as the Director of the Sitka Electric Department. He has a degree in Electrical Engineering from California Polytechnic University, a Professional Engineering License in Mechanical Engineering in California, an MBA from Saint Mary's College, and holds a General Engineering Contractors License.

Connie Sipe, Board Secretary

Connie J. Sipe, J.D. Harvard Law 1975, Alaska Bar member since 1975. Sipe served as Assistant Attorney General and Chief of the Consumer Protection Office for eight years, 1976-84. She served as Deputy Commissioner of the Alaska Department of Health & Social Services from 1984-87, and then as Executive Director of the Alaska Commission on Aging from 1987-94. Sipe served as the first director of the new Alaska Division of Senior Services from 1994-97, and was instrumental in creating the Medicaid Home Care Waiver systems, Assisted Living Licensing, and the reform of the Adult Protective Services system. She did research and consulting work in social services issues through her private company, InformAlaska, from 1998-2001, having moved to Sitka in 2000. In early 2002, Sipe took up her current position as Executive Director for Center for Community. CFC provides home and community-based services to children, adults and senior citizens, since 1979, in Sitka, Juneau, Kake and Angoon, as well as Anchorage. Center for Community employs 140 plus employees agency-wide. Sipe was the director of CFC who started and continues to manage The RIDE, the public transit system for Sitka. Sipe has one son, employed in political campaign work on the East Coast.

Mary Ann Hall, Board Member

Mary Ann Hall has 30 years of medical experience including Hospital Corp in the U.S. Navy. She moved to Sitka by way of the Indian Health Service in 1959. Mary Ann studied at the CDC in Atlanta, Georgia and worked for the CDC in Anchorage. She is a member of the Sitka Community Hospital Auxiliary and the Home Health Advisory committee. Mary Ann is from Tampa, Florida and has called Sitka home the past 27 years.

Dr. David Lam, Board Member

Doctor David M. Lam received his MD degree from the University of Minnesota in 1972, and earned a Masters Degree in Public Health from the University of Texas in 1979. He is Board-certified by the American Board of Preventive Medicine as a specialist in Aerospace Medicine, is a Fellow of the Aerospace Medical Association, the American Academy of Family Physicians, and the American College of Physician Executives, and has also been elected an Academician of the International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine. In the United Kingdom, he is also listed on the Specialist Register as a specialist in Aerospace Medicine. He is licensed/registered as a physician both in the United States and in the United Kingdom. After 30 years of active military service, Doctor Lam retired from the Army in 2001, and then served as Adjunct Associate Professor at the University of Maryland School of Medicine until 2011, from which position he was seconded to the U.S. Army's Telemedicine and Advanced Technology Research Center (TATRC) in Ft. Detrick, Maryland. He worked primarily in the areas of telemedicine standardisation, project development, and deployment of systems, mostly in the NATO and Partnership For Peace nations. He served as the Secretary for the NATO Telemedicine Expert Team, which was charged with developing policies and procedures which would enhance the multinational interoperability of Telemedicine systems in a multinational operational environment. He served concurrently as the TATRC European Liaison Officer, responsible for maintaining links to medical researchers in Europe, including with the NATO Medical Community, the European Space Agency, and the European Commission. A well-known lecturer on multiple subjects, including Aeromedical Evacuation and the history of Military Medicine, he has received the Marie Marvingt award for excellence in Aviation Medicine Education from the Aerospace Medical Association and the French Society of Aviation and Space Medicine.

Dr. Kimberly Bakkes, Chief Medial Staff Liaison

Michael Scarcelli, City and Borough of SItka Staff Liaison

Steven Eisenbeisz, Assembly Liaison